RSS

The Jack Sparrrow symptoms

08 May

ImageHey, there, fellow writers, do you have the same problem as I do? I start an article with something in mind, and somehow the words drag me away from it.

I used to think it was because I pretend I am in high school again and plan my story / article on paper before I start hitting the words on the screen. I used to think it was because of the computer and I should go back to pen and paper, like JK Rowling.

But if I am honest, I must admit that this used to happen also when I was using pen and paper. It used to happen to me also when I drew my characters, and set the plot, and the separate events, and the villain and the helper. I remember a love story I started to write that ended up in a violent mafia adventure.

So, what do you do when the words take their own story in their… do they have “hands”? … curves?

I am in favor to let the words take me wherever they please, but I feel like Jack Sparrow with his broken compass, I know where I sail from, but the shore where I’ll disembark could be the result of a twist of fate.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
