RSS

Don’t hurt me, I’m just a broccoli!

15 Apr

Oh, don’t you just love it! I have been on this earth for nearly 49 years and I never ever imagine that plants could feel pain. Today, as I was having a relaxing time, with a book and my coffee, I read this amazing statement: “Human emotions can affect the cells of plants and vegetables.” (Sarah Bartlett, Psychic Powers, 2012).

Now, even if I did not know that it works this way, that people can influence the mood of plants, I knew it works the other way: looking at plants, taking care of plants, can have a therapeutic effect on people suffering from stress for example.

Call me crazy, but I talk to my plants, I encourage them to grow, I give them challenges, for example, when I turn them around so they will need to exercise and have their leaves face the sunlight again.

What kills a plant? (beside a knife or a blade obviously!)

Do you remember a movie called “28 days”? The main character has to be institutionalized to control her addiction to alcohol and drugs. During the therapy, the patients are given a plant to care for. The counselor tells the group that they may start dating again once they have taken care of the plant for a year (and then of a dog for another year).
Read the following dialogue:

Shop Owner: Sir, I can’t replace the plant just because you killed it.
Gerhardt: I did not kill this plant, it was sick or something. I gave it everything. I was talking to it, telling it stories. I drew a sketch of it, and put it on my refrigerator.
Shop Owner: Did you water it?
Gerhardt: I– I have– It’s important that I did not kill this plant, you understand? So if you’re just saying that because that’s how you’re making your excuse, you have got to understand … / …. You obviously don’t care. And that’s one thing I do, is care. I feel sorry for all the plants in here. I’m going home.

My take on this now is that, if the plant survives the one year, this means that the carer was in a good spirit and did not transmit negative emotions to the plant, hence helping her to grow and benefit from the positive environment (the one year with a pet is to learn to be with a constantly positive companion).
Looking at it from the other side (the side of the greens), I now know that negative emotions kill. They might not kill a dog, who should be always happy as long as he eats, walks and the like, but they will kill a plant.

What does science have to say on this?

Check out the now famous Cleve Backster’s study on Primary Perception in Plant Life, in the International Journal of Parapsychology, New York, 1968.
Mr. Backster showed that, when he hooked a plant to a lie detector, and watered the plant, or threatened to kill it (even just only in thoughts) the electrical pulse gave the same tracing as it would for a human being subjected to emotions: contentment, fear, etc.
This shows that there is a possibility of primary perception in plant life, meaning that a plant reacts to emotions around it.

So, basically, if you see a beautiful rose growing in your garden and you want to cut it, the plant will know it. Fear, sadness, total alert, will result in a complete system shut down. The plant will completely switch off.

What can we do then? Save our planet!

Well, no panic, we grown and kill animals for food, we will continue to grow and kill plants. This is a survival issue, we know that, and… they must know that too.

But, a few things I suggest you start doing right now,
– send out positive vibes to the greens around you,
– look at plants and think about how beautiful they are,
– play soft music for your plants at home,
– tell them when you are about to do something to them, water them for example,
– take the time to wonder how they feel when the sun touches their leaves,
– don’t argue and don’t use swear words when you are near them…

Well come to think of it, this works with just about any type of living creature!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2012 in Daily life impressions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
